Board of Directors

The NLADA Insurance Program is overseen by two Boards of Directors: Together, they ensure that the interests of policyholders are represented at the top levels of decision-making.

NLADA Mutual Insurance Co., a Risk Retention Group, Board of Directors is comprised of NLADA individuals and members from the NLADA membership community. In the future, a majority will be elected by our policyholders.

Jo-Ann Wallace

NLADA Service Corporation,  Washington DC

Clara Hernandez

(formerly with) El Paso County Public Defender,  El Paso, TX

Avis E. Buchanan

(formerly with) Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia,  Washington DC

Jeremy Lane

(formerly with) Mid-Minnesota Legal Assistance,  Minneapolis, MN

Ken Levine

Ken Levine Coaching,  Phoenix, AZ

Karen A. Newton Cole

Neighborhood Legal Services Program of the District of Columbia,  Washington DC

Leonard Noisette

(formerly with) Neighborhood Defender Service of Harlem,  New York, NY

Scott Turner

Minnesota Lawyers Mutual (MLM),  Minneapolis, MN

“NLADA Service Corporation (NSC) Board of Directors are predominantly NLADA member-insureds (policyholders) who are appointed by the NLADA Board of Directors. NSC will continue its primary role as program manager and administrator.

Jo-Ann Wallace

NLADA Service Corporation, Washington, DC

Deierdre Weir

(formerly with) Legal Aid and Defender Association, Inc.,  Detroit, MI

Jonathan D. Asher

(formerly with) Colorado Legal Services,  Denver, CO

Lillian Johnson

(formerly with) Community Legal Services, Inc., Phoenix, AZ

Jame Neuhard

(formerly with) Michigan State Appellate Defender Office, Detroit, MI