The Champion of Justice through Public Service Award honors a public servant who has, through leadership, advocacy, and engagement, significantly enhanced the accessibility of justice in America for those unable to afford legal counsel.

Former Senator Tom Harkin of Iowa

The Justice through Philanthropy Award recognizes extraordinary achievement in directing philanthropic investment or activity towards the cause of equal justice.

Mary McClymont, President, Public Welfare Foundation

The Denison Ray Award honors persons who have provided at least five years of service to the legal services community in staff, client or volunteer capacities.

Sylvia Bosen, Utah Legal Services

The Arthur von Briesen Award honors an attorney not employed by a legal services or defender program, who has made substantial volunteer contributions in support of the delivery of legal services and/or indigent defense representation.

Maureen Alger, Cooley LLP

The Mary Ellen Hamilton Award honors a legal services client or low-income community leader who has provided extraordinary service or support to the delivery of legal assistance to low-income people.

Ethel Sylvester, Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation

The Emery A. Brownell Award affords national recognition to newspapers, films, radio, and television stations that have informed the public of the crucial role played by civil or defender organizations in ensuring equal justice for poor people.

Gary Craig, Rochester Democrat & Chronicle

The Pierce-Hickerson Award honors outstanding contributions to the advancement or preservation of Native American rights. 

Rosalie (Lisa) Chavez, New Mexico Legal Aid

The New Leaders in Advocacy Award honors rising attorneys who exhibit extraordinary leadership early in their careers as civil legal aid or indigent defense advocates.

Margaret Middleton, Connecticut Veterans Legal Center

Thomas Harvey, Michael-John Voss, and John McAnnar, ArchCity Defenders

The Reginald Heber Smith Award recognizes the dedicated service and outstanding achievements of a civil legal aid or indigent defense attorney while employed by an organization supporting such services.

Peter Komlos-Hrobsky, Colorado Legal Services (Civil)

Claudia Trupp, Center for Appellate Litigation (Defender)