Latest Beacon of Justice Honorees

You are here

NLADA Honors 2015 Beacon of Justice Award Winners

Outstanding law firms recognized at the Exemplar Award Dinner in June 2015

The National Legal Aid and Defender Association is honored to recognize the 2015 Beacon of Justice Award winners. These 13 law firms are honored for expanding access to quality legal services for people across the country. In the previous year, the exceptional law firms listed below collectively devoted more than 700,000 hours to pro bono work, including providing considerable resources to expanding opportunities for underserved populations. Two of the winners have one hundred percent pro bono participation.

NLADA applauds the pro bono accomplishments of the 2015 Beacon of Justice winners, who have met the high expectations and criteria for selection by expanding opportunities for the underserved in areas such as education, health care, housing, and legal services. In addition to demonstrating an embedded commitment to pro bono, these exceptional law firms have also created models that other organizations can replicate. A small sample of the honorees' successes includes: bringing legal services directly to homeless individuals in shelters in more than 20 cities nationwide; helping a nonprofit client achieve a major victory when a large health insurer was ordered to spend $56 million on community health needs in the nation's capital; working with multiple states on foster care system reform; and representing unaccompanied immigrant children and women and developing strategies to ensure legal representation for them.

"It is a privilege to be able to celebrate these outstanding awardees and shed light on their pro bono work that is making our communities stronger by expanding access to justice for countless low-income individuals," said Jo-Ann Wallace, NLADA President and CEO. "We are thrilled to recognize the depth and impact of their incredible efforts to advance policies and practices that provide pathways to justice and opportunity."

The full list of 2015 Beacon of Justice winners is as follows:

  • Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
  • Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC
  • Covington & Burling LLP
  • Dechert LLP
  • DLA Piper
  • Hunton & Williams
  • Jones Day
  • Lavelle Law, Ltd.
  • Morrison & Foerster
  • O'Melveny & Myers LLP
  • Perkins Coie LLP
  • Phillips Lytle LLP
  • Stinson Leonard Street LLP

The Beacon of Justice Award winners were formally honored at the NLADA Exemplar Award Dinner on Tuesday, June 23, 2015, at The Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington D.C.

For more information, contact Chelsea Gibson, Major Gifts Officer, at 202-452-0620 ext. 259 or [email protected].